Year-In-Review (1 of 2)

Premiere DateDec 15, 2019
Categories Jazz Music
00:00 The Jazz Hole with Linus
01:40 Vision Ahead Jonathan Barber Vision Ahead
09:06 Lunga Sofia Ribeiro
14:00 Chapter I: 6EQUJ5 (Wow Signal) Okan Ersan
18:15 Chapter VII: Space Jungle; Anunnaki Okan Ersan
22:09 The Jazz Hole with Linus
23:44 Aldito (Intro) Alex Terrier Franco Cuban Project
25:14 Aldito Alex Terrier Franco Cuban Project
31:33 Our People Gerry Gibbs & Thrasher People
35:49 The Final Message Gerry Gibbs & Thrasher People
42:26 The Jazz Hole with Linus
45:11 Revolution Blues Chelsea McBride’s Socialist Night School
52:33 Magenta Dor Herskovits
57:12 The Jazz Hole with Linus
58:24 Don’t Look At The Pot Earprint
63:31 Finish

This week and next week, The Jazz Hole with Linus is looking back at some of 2019’s highlights. Check out artists that were featured interview guests on past episodes – and you can of course still find these interviews in our archives. Groups include Jonathan Barber Vision Ahead, Sofia Ribeiro, Okan Ersan, Alex Terrier Franco Cuban Project, Gerry Gibbs & Thrasher People, Chelsea McBride’s Socialist Night School, Dor Herskovits, Earprint.


Jonathan Barber Vision Ahead – Vision Ahead
Album: Vision Ahead
Jonathan Barber (d), Taber Gable (p, fender rhodes, syn), Andrew Renfroe (g), Godwin Louis (as), Matt Dwonszyk (b), Denise Renee and Sasha Foster (voc)


Sofia Ribeiro – Lunga
Album: Lunga
Sofia Ribeiro (voc, bck voc), Juan Andrés Ospina (p, bck voc, arr), Petros Klampanis (b, bck voc, arr), Marcelo Woloski (perc), Vitor Gonçalves (acc), Eleni Arapoglou, Juana Luna, Lara Bello and Lauren Chaplain (bck voc)

Okan Ersan – “Chapter I: 6EQUJ5 (Wow Signal)” & “Chapter VII: Space Jungle; Anunnaki”
Album: Nibiru
Okan Ersan (g), Serkan Özyilmaz (p), Eylem Pelit (b) and Volkan Öktem (d)

Alex Terrier Franco Cuban Project – “Aldito (Intro)” & “Aldito”
Album: Camina Tú
Alex Terrier (as), Leo Montana (p), Felipe Cabrera (b), Lukmil Perez (d) and Roberto Vizcaino (perc)

Gerry Gibbs & Thrasher People – “Our People” & “The Final Message”
Album: Our People
Gerry Gibbs (d, perc, syn, prog, elect soundscape, tp, …), Alex Collins (all solos, p, kbds, syn, vib, as, ss, g, acc, perc, voc …), Gianluca Renzi (b, e-b, sting section, perc, …), Mayu Saeki (picc, fl, alto fl, voc), Kyeshie Gibbs (voc, perc, …)


Chelsea McBride’s Socialist Night School – Revolution Blues
Album: Aftermath
Chelsea McBride (ts, cond), Colleen Allen (ss, as, picc, fl, alto fl), Naomi Higgins (ss, as, fl, alto fl), Alison Young (ts, fl, cl), Patrick Smith (ts, ss, fl, cl), Conrad Gluch (bs, b-cl, contrab cl, alto fl), James Rhodes, Jusitn See, Tom Upjohn, Kaelin Murphy (tp, flh), William Carn, Aidan Sibley, Jill Richards (tb), Nicholas Sieber (b-tb, tuba), Alex Samaras (voc), Chris Bruder (p), David Riddel (g), Steven Falk (b), Geoff Bruce (d)


Dor Herskovits – Magenta
Album: Flying Elephants
Dor Herskovits (d), Hery Paz (ts), Caio Afiune (g), Isaac Wilson (p) and Max Ridley (b)


Earprint – Don’t Look At The Pot
Album: Easy Listening
Tree Palmedo (tp), Kevin Sun (ts, cl), Simón Willson (b) and Dor Herskovits (d, comp)

Grammy-award winner Linus Wyrsch is one of New York City's most sought-after clarinetists and saxophonists. Full of passion for jazz, Brazilian and Latin music, the Swiss native maintains a busy performance and…