Week of 02/26/17

Premiere DateFeb 26, 2017
Categories Jazz Music
00:00 The Jazz Hole with DJ Linus
02:09 Road To Forever Greg Abate, Tim Ray Trio
07:12 Farewell Phil Woods Greg Abate, Tim Ray Trio
15:34 The Jazz Hole with DJ Linus
16:53 Fractured Pop Chris Jentsch, Jentsch Group Quartet
21:49 Vai ficar tudo bem Sofia Ribeiro, Arooj Aftab, Maeve Gilchrist
26:21 Table Talk Glenn Zaleski
32:40 The Jazz Hole with DJ Linus
34:29 Fellowship Glenn Zaleski
41:31 Telepathy & Bop I Josh Green, The Cyborg Orchestra
51:04 The Jazz Hole with DJ Linus
53:14 Nicha’s Blues Nicole Johänntgen
58:05 Finish

Check out several tracks from brand new albums on today’s episode of The Jazz Hole with Linus, including Greg Abate’s Road To Forever, Jentsch Group Quartet’s Fractured Pop and Glenn Zaleski’s Fellowship. Plus more from Josh Green & The Cyborg Orchestra, a track by Sofia Ribeiro featuring Arooj Aftab and Maeve Gilchrist, as well as one of Nicole Johänntgen’s compositions.

Greg Abate with the Tim Ray Trio – “Road To Forever” & “Farewell Phil Woods”
Album: Road To Forever
Greg Abate (ss, as), Tim Ray (p, e-p), John Lockwood (b) and Mark Walker(d, perc)

Chris Jentsch, Jentsch Group Quartet – Fractured Pop
Album: Fractured Pop
Chris Jentsch (g), Matt Renzi (ts, cl, alto fl), Jim Whitney (b) and John Mettam (d)

Sofia Ribeiro (featuring Arooj Aftab and Maeve Gilchrist) – Vai ficar tudo bem
Album: Mar sonoro
Sofia Ribeiro (voc), Arooj Aftab (voc), Maeve Gilchrist (harp), Juan Andrés Ospina (p,arr), Petros Klampanis (b), Marcelo Woloski (perc), Maria Im, Megan Gould, Gokce Erem, Christiana Liberis (violin), Lev “Ljova” Zhurbin, Irena Momchilova (viola), Maria Jeffers and Sam Quiggins (cello)

Glenn Zaleski – “Table Talk” & “Fellowship”
Album: Fellowship
Glenn Zaleski (p), Dezron Douglas (b) and Craig Weinrib (d)
Josh Green & The Cyborg Orchestra – Telepathy & Bop I
Album: Telepathy & Bop I
Josh Green (leader, comp), Josh Plotner (fl, pic), Charles Pillow (oboe, fl, cl), Steve Kenyon (as, cl), Todd Groves (EWI, ts, cl, solo), Jay Hassler (b-cl), Nathan Schram (viola), Nick Revel (viola), Clarice Jensen (cello), PUBLIQuartet (strings), John Lake, John Blevins (tp), Alan Ferber, Chris Misch Bloxdorf (tb), Nathan Koci (acc), Sungwon Kim (g, solo), Michael Verselli (p), Brian Courage (b) and Josh Bailey (d) Nicole

Johänntgen – Nicha’s Blues
Album: Moncaup
Nicole Johänntgen (as) and Thomas Lähns (b)

Grammy-award winner Linus Wyrsch is one of New York City's most sought-after clarinetists and saxophonists. Full of passion for jazz, Brazilian and Latin music, the Swiss native maintains a busy performance and…