Week of 02/05/17

Premiere DateFeb 5, 2017
Categories Jazz Music
00:00 The Jazz Hole with DJ Linus
02:52 Orion The Brian Dickinson Quintet
09:22 Moonshine The Brian Dickinson Quintet
15:08 Parabens Yotam Silberstein
19:13 The Jazz Hole with DJ Linus Interview with Yotam Silberstein
29:28 Nocturno Yotam Silberstein
36:23 The Village Yotam Silberstein
44:41 Beguine Nummer Eins Satoko Fujii Orchestra Tokyo
50:44 The Jazz Hole with DJ Linus
52:07 Peace Satoko Fujii Orchestra Tokyo
62:08 Finish

The Jazz Hole with Linus celebrates its 8th anniversary today by having interview guest Yotam Silberstein on the show, who happens to be one of New York City’s premier guitarists and composers. The Tel Aviv native talks about his new album The Village, which features pianist Aaron Goldberg, bassist Reuben Rogers and drummer Gregory Hutchinson. Two other brand new albums are also featured on this episode: The Rhythm Method by The Brian Dickinson Quintet and Peace (Tribute to Kelly Churko) by the Satoko Fujii Orchestra Tokyo.


The Brian Dickinson Quintet – “Orion” & “Moonshine”
Album: The Rhythm Method
Brian Dickinson (p), Luis Deniz (as), Kelly Jefferson (ts), Neil Swainson (b) and Ted Warren (d)
Yotam Silberstein -“Parabens”, “Nocturno” & “The Village”
Album: The Village
Yotam Silberstein (g), Aaron Goldberg (p), Reuben Rogers (b) and Gregory Hutchinson (d)
Satoko Fujii Orchestra Tokyo – “Beguine Nummer Eins” & “Peace”
Album: Peace (Tribute to Kelly Churko)
Satoko Fujii (leader, composer), Sachi Hayasaka (ss,as), Kunihiro Izumi (as), Kenichi Matsumoto, Masaya Kimura (ts), Ryuichi Yoshida (bs), Natsuki Tamura, Yoshihito Fukumoto, Takao Watanabe, Yusaku Shirotani (tp), Haguregumo Nagamatsu, Yasuyuki Takahashi, Toshihiro Koike (tb), Toshiki Nagata, Akira Horikoshi (d), Christian Pruvost (tp) and Peter Orins (d)
Grammy-award winner Linus Wyrsch is one of New York City's most sought-after clarinetists and saxophonists. Full of passion for jazz, Brazilian and Latin music, the Swiss native maintains a busy performance and…