Week of 12/27/15

Premiere DateDec 27, 2015
Categories Jazz Music
00:00 The Jazz Hole with DJ Linus
01:12 Blackfire Misha Piatigorsky Septet
13:24 Precious Silence Olivia Trummer
17:43 The Jazz Hole with DJ Linus
18:32 Snow Colored Streets Olivia Trummer
22:01 Reunion Mambo Mitch Frohman
26:31 God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen The Curtis Brothers
32:43 The Jazz Hole with DJ Linus
35:25 Old Man Winter Blues Glenn Crytzer’s Savoy Seven
39:34 Tamayakul Manami Morita
44:25 Osiris Walker Adams
50:03 Stucks Petros Sakelliou Visual Music Circus
57:17 The Jazz Hole with DJ Linus
59:10 New Year Blues Glenn Crytzer’s Savoy Seven
65:05 Finish

Check out today’s edition of The Jazz Hole with Linus, an hour of great music (including some holiday-themed compositions) by international artists, many of them based in New York City. Get ready for music by the Misha Piatigorsky Septet, Olivia Trummer, Mitch Frohman, The Curtis Brothers, Glenn Crytzer’s Savoy Seven, Manami Morita, Walker Adams, and Petros Sakelliou Visual Music Circus.

Links to today’s artists:
Olivia Trummer
Mitch Frohman
Zaccai Curtis
Luques Curtis
Glenn Crytzer
Manami Morita
Walker Adams
Petros Sakelliou


Misha Piatigorsky Septet – Blackfire
Album: MP7 Misha Piatigorsky Septet – Recorded at Benny’s Car Wash
Misha Piatigorsky (p), Tatum Greenblatt (tp), Joel Frahm (ts, ss), Andy Hunter (tb), Douglas Yates (cl, b-cl, fl), Danton Boller (b) and Rudy Royston (d)

Olivia Trummer – “Precious Silence” & “Snow Colored Streets”
Album: Fly Now
Olivia Trummer (voc, p, fender rhodes, hammond C3, Wurly, Shaker), Matt Penman (b) and Obed Calvaire (d)

Mitch Frohman – Reunion Mambo
Album: Together
Mitch Frohman (ts, fl, bs), Carols Abadie (tp), Zaccai Curtis (p), Alex Hernandez (b), Reinaldo De Jesus (congas) and Daniel Antonetti (timbales)

The Curtis Brothers – God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
Album: Together
Zaccai Curtis (p), Luques Curtis (b), Darrel Yokely (ts), Reinaldo De Jesus (congas) and Amaury Acosta (d)

Glenn Crytzer’s Savoy Seven – “Old Man Winter Blues” & “New Year Blues”
Album: A Little Love This Christmas
Glenn Crytzer (g, voc, arr), Mike Davis (tp), Evan Arntzen (cl, ts), Craig Flory (ss, as, ts), Solomon Douglas (p), Jen Hodge (b) and Julian MacDonough (d)

Manami Morita – Tamayakul
Album: When Skies Are Grey
Manami Morita (p), Jeremy Vovcsko (as), Michael Sinicropi (tp), Tomoko Omura, Mary Beth Alexander (violin), Jeanie Lee (viola), Joy Stuhr (cello), Evgeny Lebedev (org), Colin Cannon (g), Petros Klampanis (b), Zak Croxall (e-b), Keita Ogawa (perc) and Thomas Hartman (d)

Walker Adams – Osiris
Album: Emergence
Walker Adams (d, midi b), Brad Whiteley (org) and Jon Lipscomb (g)

Petros Sakelliou Visual Music Circus – Stucks
Album: Visual Music Circus
Petros Sakelliou (p), Magda Giannikou (acc), Ryoichi Yamaki (as, ss), Mika Mimura (vib), Linus Wyrsch (cl), Susanna Quilter (fl, picc), Anna Hoffmann (bs, as), Ben Powell, Tomoko Omura (violin), Yuki Ito (b), Keita Ogawa (perc) and Ryo Noritake (d)

Misha Piatigorsky

Glenn Crytzer

Manami Morita

Grammy-award winner Linus Wyrsch is one of New York City's most sought-after clarinetists and saxophonists. Full of passion for jazz, Brazilian and Latin music, the Swiss native maintains a busy performance and…