Sponsored by...

Premiere DateFeb 2, 2020
Categories Jazz Music
00:00 The Jazz Hole with Linus
02:13 Way Off Gabe Terracciano
10:14 Alfie’s Lullaby Gabe Terracciano
15:10 Flowers for Marie The Margaret Slovak Quartet
21:51 The Jazz Hole with Linus
24:12 Open Hands, Open Heart Margaret Slovak
28:19 The Answer Within Margaret Slovak, George Mitchell
34:11 Miss Météo Manteca
40:31 The Jazz Hole with Linus
41:50 Avant Cool Manteca
46:02 Sketch in C Luke Norris
52:56 The Jazz Hole with Linus
55:07 Excavate Luke Norris
61:27 Finish

Lots of new jazz on today’s episode of The Jazz Hole with Linus, including saxophonist and composer Luke Norris from Long Island, NY, who just released his album “Northernsong”, or the Juno Award-winning jazz world collective Manteca, that celebrates its forty-first year with the release of their 13th recording Augmented Indifference. Other artists today include the great guitarist, composer and painter Margaret Slovak, who is originally from Denver, Colorado, spent time in a lot of different places, among them in NYC for several years and now lives in Austin, Texas, plus violinist, bassist, composer and educator Gabe Terracciano with two tracks from his brand new all original album In Flight.

Gabe Terracciano – Way Off
Album: In Flight
Gabe Terracciano (violin), Adam Rogers (g), Matt Pavolka (b) and Mark Ferber (d)

Gabe Terracciano – Alfie’s Lullaby
Album: In Flight
Gabe Terracciano (violin), Adam Rogers (g), Matt Pavolka (b), Mark Ferber (d), Dave Pietro (as) and Mike Rodriguez (tp)

The Margaret Slovak Quartet – Flowers for Marie
Album: For The Moment
Margaret Slovak (e-g), Fred Hersch (p), Michael Formanek (b) and Michael Sarin (d)

Margaret Slovak – Open Hands, Open Heart
Album: New Wings
Margaret Slovak (g)

Margaret Slovak, George Mitchell – The Answer Within
Album: New Wings
Margaret Slovak (g) and George Mitchell (p)


Manteca – “Miss Météo” & “Avant Cool”
Album: Augmented Indifference
Art Avalos (d, perc), Colleen Allen (ww), Charlie Cooley (d), Mark Ferguson (tb, b-tb, vib), Will Jarvis (b, e-b), Nick Tateishi (g), Doug Wilde (comp, kbds), Matt Zimbell (comp, congas, talking d, voc), Steve McDade (tp, flh), Lucas Choi Zimbel (acc, voc) and Lyne Tremblay (voc)

Luke Norris – “Sketch in C” & “Excavate”
Album: Northernsong
Luke Norris (ss, ts), Mike Baggetta (g), Tyrone Allen (b) and Daniel Sunshine (d)

Grammy-award winner Linus Wyrsch is one of New York City's most sought-after clarinetists and saxophonists. Full of passion for jazz, Brazilian and Latin music, the Swiss native maintains a busy performance and…