‘The Atomic City Girls’ by Janet Beard

Premiere DateApr 19, 2018
00:00 Show Opening
02:53 Episode Intro (music: “Can’t Look Back”)
08:35 Interview with Janet Beard Part 1
21:00 “It’s A Problem” His & Her Vanities
23:06 Interview with Janet Beard Part 2
30:46 “Just One More” His & Her Vanities
30:59 Outro
32:43 Finish

In November 1944, eighteen-year-old June Walker boards an unmarked bus, destined for a city that doesn’t officially exist. Oak Ridge, Tennessee has sprung up in a matter of months—a town of trailers and segregated houses, 24-hour cafeterias, and constant security checks. There, June joins hundreds of other young girls operating massive machines whose purpose is never explained. They know they are helping to win the war, but must ask no questions and reveal nothing to outsiders

Book Cover and Author headshot images provided by the author’s representative

Kory French is the Founder and Principal of Emily Consulting, a consulting company that leads start-up and early-stage companies in everything from concept development to strategic planning to scaling and exit…