Archives
Book Talk
A look back at the full year of Book Talk with 5 of the best bits, and 5 more honorable mentions
In this episode, I took a detailed look at some of the best books out there to explain this magical time of year.
A collection of hilarious personal essays and political commentary from the charming, feminist and wickedly funny …
The world of ragtime is the backdrop for a remarkable story about the price of freedom, the longing for …
Reimagining Our Tomorrows is for all the doers and dreamers anxious to ensure our best days are still ahead of …
Inspired by true events, ‘The Lighthouse Keeper’s Daughter’ is a sweeping historical novel that explores how …
A fresh, revelatory foray into the new science of dreams—how they work, what they’re for, and how we can …
A bold, heartfelt tale of life at Green Gables...before Anne
What We Owe is a novel of love, guilt and dreams for a better future, vibrating with both sorrow and an …
‘No Cameras Allowed: My Career as an Outlaw Rock and Roll Photographer’ tells the story, in words and …
In 'An Uncivil War,' Greg Sargent sounds an urgent alarm about the deeper roots of our democratic backsliding—and how we can…
A piercingly raw debut story collection from a young writer with an explosive voice; a treacherously surreal, and,…
In 1928, less than a dozen American women had a pilot's license, making the few women who flew airplanes true …
Inspired by the story of John Walker Lindh, the “American Taliban,” Wray explores the circumstances that could…
“Deeply moving...beautifully written...It is such an achievement, like running uphill against a strong wind.” —…
A Southern Town, a country legend, and the last days of a mountaintop Honky-Tonk
A bold, page-turning novel that follows how a childhood abduction sets two sisters on very different courses
When the husband of a Queen’s Park aide runs off to escape his gambling debts, private investigator Dan Sharp …
Tango was an unlikely choice for Meghan Flaherty. A young woman living with the scars of past trauma, she was …
In celebration of The Simpsons thirtieth anniversary, the show’s longest-serving writer and producer offers a …
An epic novel—based on true events—of wealth, race, grief, and love, charting one sweltering summer in Atlanta…
In a near future in which plummeting birth rates have ominous political and personal implications for women, a …
This is the story of a professional British tree climber, cameraman and adventurer, who has made a career out …
In honor of the 50th anniversary of Robert Kennedy’s death on June 6th, RFK: His Words for Our Times comes an …
In the vein of Wicked, The Woodcutter, and Boy, Snow, Bird, a luminous reimagining of a classic tale, told from…
From the author of Bond Girl and Lost Along the Way, comes a fiercely funny, insightful story of marriage, family,…
A vibrant, propulsive literary thriller that charts the high-stakes journey of a young man trying to find his …
"THE ULTIMATE DINOSAUR BIOGRAPHY," hails Scientific American: A sweeping and revelatory new history of the age of …
‘Can’t Help Myself’ is the extraordinary (and often hilarious) story of a single woman navigating her …
Coming of age on the perilous frontier of revolutionary New York, Elizabeth Schuyler champions the fight for …
Death Doesn’t Bargain is the second historical fantasy title in New York Times bestselling author Sherrilyn …
In the glittering hotbed of turn-of-the-twentieth century Vienna, one woman’s life would define and defy an era
As a deadly cancer spread inside her brain, leading neuroscientist Barbara Lipska was plunged into madness—only …
A coming-of-age story set in modern day China centering on the friendship between an American and a Chinese boy …
From the author of the internationally bestselling ‘The Lake of Dead Languages’ comes a gripping novel about madness,…
“What you see here, what you hear here, what you do here, let it stay here.”
"If not you, then who? If not now, then when? We need more women to speak up and make their voices heard. Young women have…
China is poised to overtake the United States, and the rest of the developed world, economically by the year 2030. Or is it? To…
A fascinating, cinematic, multigenerational history of the Cuban mob in the US from "America’s top chronicler of organized…
A riveting and cinematic true tale stranger and twistier than fiction, ‘Hiding Out’ is an astonishing story of self-discovery,…
Lorna Shultz Nicholson joins me on the phone from Edmonton, Alberta Canada to talk about her award-nominated ‘One-2-One’…
‘Running: A Love Story’ is Jen A. Miller’s witty, brutally honest account of her lifelong relationship with running, and an…
For the first time ever on Book Talk, we have a Literary Agent on the show to talk our listeners through the process of writing to…
A (painfully) true story about love, life, and sex... without a penis
A sharp and bitingly funny novel about a professor whose calm-ish midwestern life gives way to a vortex of crises—and her…
A pioneering physician reveals just how deeply our bodies can be imprinted for life by childhood adversity–and what we can do to…
Once-errant stoners score the biggest load of Colombian pot that had yet to reach our shores. And this all really happened.
From the author of Paris, My Sweet comes the story of a modern woman embracing love, motherhood and all the courses life has to…
A pioneering psychologist reveals how three emotions can provide the surest, quickest route to success in any realm
From the best-selling author of Fosse, a sweeping yet intimate—and often hilarious—history of a uniquely American art form…
The dramatic, pulse-pounding story of Harry Truman’s first four months in office, when this unlikely president had to take on…