Categories
A profoundly moving and unconventional mother-daughter saga, ‘The Last Story of Mina Lee’ illustrates the devastating realities of being an immigrant in America. 
A stirring historical novel about 19th century Vienna and the tragedy and dynamic passion that inspired Ludwig van Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata.
‘New York Times’ bestselling author Laura Lippman collects recent essays exploring motherhood as an older mom, her life as a reader, her relationships with her parents, friendship, and other topics that will resonate with a large audience.
Stephen Kiernan and the fictionalized account of the life of Charlie Fisk, a gifted mathematician who was drafted into Manhattan Project.
A fiercely personal and startlingly universal essay collection about the mysteries of gender and desire, of identity and class, of the stories we tell and the places we call home.
One life-changing summer. Charlie meets Fran…
A compelling portrait of youth, love, and a lost era of New York.
One of the New York Times’ 20 Books to Read in 2020.
‘Members Only’ follows an Indian-American college professor through one week, as he’s chastised for being racist by his all-white tennis club following a major misstep with an African-American potential new member, and denounced as a reverse racist by a group of conservative students
A fascinating historical story set at the 1936 Olympic Games, based on true history of the members of the first integrated women’s Olympic team, and exploring still-relevant themes of patriotism, athleticism, and equality.
The inspirational story of one woman learning to surf and creating a new life in gritty, eccentric Rockaway Beach.
The book on everyone’s mind this week, “The Room Where It Happened.” No, I don’t have Former National Security Advisor on the phone or in the studio, unfortunately, but I do offer some thoughts on the President, the upcoming election, freedom, and democracy.
In this pulse-pounding third action thriller for fans of Brad Thor and David Baldacci, hero Tom Locke, introduced in ‘Shadow War’ and ‘Deep Black’, must stop traitors and ruthless mercenaries working together to overthrow the president.
A compelling and indelible story set in small town America that examines the burden of guilt, the bitter price of forgiveness, and the debts we owe our dead, both recent and distant.
James Joyce was her father. Samuel Beckett was her lover. This is her story.
Jeffrey Round is back on Book Talk to talk about the Toronto publishing scene, a real serial killer in Toronto’s gay community, and Book 7 of his Dan Sharp Mysteries.
Christopher Moore’s hilarious retelling of a Midsummer Night’s Dream.
A Harvard grad seeks a mate in a cult that forbids monogamy. To pursue love on her own terms, she must brave exile and learn self-trust.
A rising New York Times reporter tells the compelling story of The Compton Cowboys, a group of African-American men and women who defy stereotypes and continue the proud, centuries-old tradition of black cowboys in the heart of one of America’s most notorious cities.
Einstein, Michael Jackson & Me is Bloom’s story-the strange tale of a scientific expedition into the dark underbelly of science and fame where new myths and movements are made.
Trusted with the secrets of the wealthy, she can never reveal her own… This week on Book Talk we hear from Alka Joshi about her debut novel ‘The Henna Artist.’
The #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Divergent series, the Carve the Mark duology, Chosen Ones and various short stories.
The moving new novel by the author of ‘Harmless Like You,’ a ‘New York Times Book Review’ Editors’ Choice and NPR Great Read.
Rebel, seeker, traveler, observer, vagabond, writer. Jim Christy has been called all these things and more. Inspired at age twelve after reading Jack Kerouac’s On The Road one summer while running wild in the streets of a tough Philadelphia neighborhood, Christy began his life-long habit of following the wind.
From New York Times finance editor David Enrich, a searing exposé of the most scandalous bank in the world, revealing its shadowy ties to Donald Trump, Putin’s Russia, and Nazi Germany.
From the author of ‘A Place at the Table’ and ‘A Soft Place to Land’ comes an intense, complex, and wholly immersive multigenerational novel that explores the complex relationship between two very different women and the secrets they bequeath to their daughters.
In 1994, Mab Segrest first explained how she “had become a woman haunted by the dead.” Against a backdrop of nine generations of her family’s history, Segrest explored her experiences in the 1980s as a white lesbian organizing against a virulent far-right movement in North Carolina.
The compelling story of seven women and one man at the heart of a sit-in protesting decreased enrollment and hiring of African Americans at Swarthmore College and demanding a Black Studies curriculum.
Writing from a historical perspective, ‘Delivered by Midwives’ dives into the rich and complex narrative of black midwives in the twentieth century south.
Five must-read books on the life and legacy of Martin Luther King Jr.
A look back at the last ten years of books, publishing, literature and of course, my show.
Matt Ruby talks more with writer Tim Kreider. J. McVay and Jacqueline Soller on new movie, ‘Uncut Gems.’ Plus a preview of Lisel’s upcoming BTR Live Studio session.
A psychology professor encounters a teenage girl who exists as multiple incarnations, each living in a separate reality.
Matt Ruby talks with writer Tim Kreider. Also, we review new movies, ‘Uncut Gems,’ ‘Little Women,’ and ‘The Rise of Skywalker.’ Plus a preview of upcoming BTR Live Studio sessions from Field Mouse and Kissed By An Animal.
One man knows the connection between two extraordinary acts of arson, fifteen years apart, in his Montana hometown–if only he could remember it.

recommendations